top of page

Newcastle cricketers dominate NSW Country caps

The upcoming national carnival will see Newcastle well-represented, with a total of 11 cricketers set to showcase their skills for NSW Country on their home turf. Following their success in both men's and women's competitions this summer, Newcastle players have secured a significant presence in both state squads.

Nick Foster, who recently led Newcastle to a historic fifth consecutive men's title, continues to captain the Bush Blues. Joining him are Stockton teammates Jeff Goninan, Josh McTaggart, and Logan Weston. Wests leg-spinner Aaron Bills, honored as the player of the final at No.1 Sportsground on Sunday, and Belmont all-rounder Adrian Isherwood have also earned their spots.

In the women's Bush Breakers squad, Newcastle has secured five positions with Emma-Jayne Howe, Ally McGrath, Kirsten Smith, Abbey Taylor, and Clare Webber.

The Australian Country Championships are scheduled to take place across the Newcastle district from January 3 to 10.

MEN: Nick Foster (c), Bailey Abela, Aaron Bills, Ethan Debono, Matt Everett, Jeff Goninan, Adrian Isherwood, Simon Keen, Josh McTaggart, Ben Parsons, Jack Preddey, Callum Rainger, Hamish Starr, Logan Weston.

WOMEN: Kira Churchland (c), Dharmini Chauhan, Rochelle Davis, Jodie Hicks, Emma-Jayne Howe, Joanne Kelly, Lisa Kuschert, Aimee Longhurst, Ally McGrath, Claire Murray, Kelly Rowlings, Kirsten Smith, Abbey Taylor, Clare Webber.

48 views0 comments


bottom of page